The seven sacraments of the Roman Catholic Church are Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Reconciliation, Marriage, Holy Orders and Anointing of the Sick. These were instituted by Christ to provide us with his grace throughout the important moments of Christian life. They initiate, heal and give mission to our life of faith.

Adhering to the teaching of the Holy Scriptures, to the apostolic traditions, and to the consensus of the Church Fathers," we profess that the sacraments were all instituted by Jesus Christ our Lord.

Jesus' words and actions during his hidden life and public ministry were already salvific, for they anticipated the power of his Paschal mystery. They announced and prepared what he was going to give the Church when all was accomplished. The mysteries of Christ's life are the foundations of what he would henceforth dispense in the sacraments, through the ministers of his Church, for what was visible in our Savior has passed over into his mysteries.

Sacraments are powers that comes forth from the Body of Christ, which is ever-living and life-giving. They are actions of the Holy Spirit at work in his Body, the Church. They are the masterworks of God in the new and everlasting covenant.